• Kaesong DPRK

Koryo Dynasty (918-1392)

Koryo (Goryeo) was established in 918 and in the year 936 became the ruling Kingdom on the Korean Peninsula. It was founded by Taejo Wang Kon. Its capital was moved to Kaesong just 8 km north of the demarcation zone that currently divides the Korean peninsula.

Map of the Koryo dynasty in Sariwon city, North Korea DPRK. Trip arranged by KTG Tours

Map of the Koryo Dynasty in Sariwon City, capital of North Hwanghae Province

Buddhism expanded around the peninsula and significant technological achievements were made, such as the world's first metallic paintings. In the 13th century the Mongols expanded all the way to Korea, and managed to achieve concessions from Koryo after 30 years of resistance. The Mongols allied with Koryo (spelled Goryeo in South Korea) troops to invade Japan, which ultimately was not possible given strong military resistance and heavy storms.

At the end of the 14th century a coup d'etat led to to the end of the kingdom and the establishment of a new dynasty.

Koryo King. Picture from the Koryo Museum in Kaesong, DPRK

Interested in North Korean history? You may want to check the following pages:

Please click here to go from our Koryo section to see other periods of Korean history.


North Korea Tours

North Korea Tours

Information & Events

DPRK Military
North Korea Travel Forum

Places of Interest

DMZ Tours in North Korea

Safe Payments

We accept PayPal and credit/debit card payments